What was I thinking?! - Reisverslag uit Zaragoza, Spanje van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu What was I thinking?! - Reisverslag uit Zaragoza, Spanje van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu

What was I thinking?!

Door: Geiske

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Geiske

11 Januari 2014 | Spanje, Zaragoza

Pretty much the usual
It's been a while. Do I still know how to pull it off? And after all these months, where to start? What was I thinking, with barely three in-between-jobs weeks to spare? How? Whereto? The uneasy churning of my lower abdomen pleads for a no, while all five - or six, depending on your line of sprituality - senses harmoniously chant yes. Money's not the problem. I've been saving like a squirrel hoarding acorns in late fall frenzy. No shortage of plans either, with my must-explore bucket list growing exponentially on a monthly basis. But a severe case of pre-trip apprehensiveness drowns my brain cells into a swamp of paralysis. For god's sake: why do I want to inflict this upon myself? Again...  

Wednesday
Two days later, the world is a new place. In a flash of very un-calvinist spontaneity I booked a one-way ticket to Zaragoza. By myself. Departure date the day after tomorrow. With no further plan than to spend a long weekend scrambling around some Spanish mountain with my long lost friend Javier the Frog master. Ah yes, and to end up in Granada on January 24th, one way or the other. And to add to the chaos, my Argentinian friend Lucas announced his arrival in Holland. Tonight. All in all, pretty much business as usual. Well, of my feral half that is. My office half still has a day of work to finish.  

Friday
Happily umemployed, wrapped in a fluffy blanket of South American chitchat, and barely coffee-ed up, I realise my bus is leaving in five minutes. But who needs goodbyes? In a surreal twist of fate, Lucas and Julieta will be in Barcelona in a few days time. So it seems our reunion suddenly includes a little sequal. But first I need to make a run for that bus. After a tightly scheduled commute - Dutch style, no very last minute Argentinian tricks here - I am finally ready to switch to travel mode. And all too soon my fresh mindset is rewarded with an interestin encounter in the Madrid metro (Che, if you're reading: hi again). I'm back. And yes, I do remember how to travel solo.  

More soon. And good to have you back, my reader!

  • 11 Januari 2014 - 22:27

    Reyer:

    Geiske,

    Jouw reislust blijft me verbazen - fijn dat je het kunt doen.
    Veel plezier - kom veilig terug, en een heel goed en gezond jaar gewenst.
    Als je na juni terugkomt, werk ik niet meer in Leiden.
    Groet,
    Reyer

  • 13 Januari 2014 - 13:17

    Mijke:

    Ahhhhhh! Ineens was je uit Utrecht verdwenen maar ik zie dat je nu in betere oorden vertoeft haha. heel veel plezier en we spreken elkaar weer als je terug bent! Liefs, Mijke

  • 13 Januari 2014 - 17:07

    Barry:

    And yeh, off she goes again!
    Heel veel plezier, doe je voorzichtig?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Geiske

Actief sinds 29 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 637
Totaal aantal bezoekers 115969

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2014 - 16 Augustus 2014

European Escapades

11 Januari 2014 - 02 Februari 2014

A Spanish intermezzo

05 November 2012 - 08 April 2013

World Trip - Part 2

05 Februari 2012 - 30 Augustus 2012

World Trip - Part One

04 Juli 2010 - 28 September 2010

China

Landen bezocht: