A timely mess at midnight - Reisverslag uit Santiago de Chile, Chili van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu A timely mess at midnight - Reisverslag uit Santiago de Chile, Chili van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu

A timely mess at midnight

Door: Geiske

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Geiske

11 Maart 2013 | Chili, Santiago de Chile

I thought Australia's time zone management was a mess. With every state doing as it pleases, half an hour lapses included. Wrong! That was all before I collided head first with the twists of Chilean daylight saving. And of course it happened at the worst possible time, late at night.  

The discovery
One of my dorm companions exclamed "Oh, no, it's so late, it's already midnight!" At which her boyfriend replied from his bottom bunk: "What are you talking about, it's eleven." Very fixable problem, I can hear you thinking. Guess again. A quick inspection of all technology-time interbreeds only added to the mix-up. Half of them informed us it was midnight, the other half was humming along unstirred at eleven pm. My inner physicst rejoiced at this very-first-of macro observation of superposition. But my tangible me was in need of as much sleep as possible before my not to be missed early morning meeting. Now what?  

Google
O thou omniscient presence, talk to us in our time of need. And talk google did. The first few hits saying we had indeed switched to winter time (remember, southern hemisphere) at the stroke of midnight. However, the others convincingly stated summer time to end next month - the latter equally devided between the 10th and 28th of April. Next stop: the GMT website. Where Santiago time by now was 23.14. But why did only half of devices switch back an hour then? Aha, according to the TV - our second best reliable source - it was 00.14. With no local at hand I turned to my morning date. Who denied everything, swearing Sunday time was no different from Saturday time. Now, I could make the usual sarcastic comments on men and their organizational talents. But I didn't even know this guy. So who am I to judge?  

Unravellings
Maybe I should have informed you about the urgency of my time need before. Dani from "How many cachoeiras can one take?" had set me up with Tomas and Pancho, who were going climbing at Cajón del Maipo. A stiff two hour drive from Santiago, and hard to get to by public transport. Let alone find other climbers. So, still confused, I decided to stay on the safe side, sleep an hour less, and risk a long pre-coffee wait. The morning, with me being so sleepy I tried to rub a cotton swab underneath my armpit in stead of deodorant, revealed the previously mentioned winter-time-really-starts-today websites had all miraculously converted to either the 10th or 28th April. The boys dutifully showed up on 'old' time plus Chilean delay, and we had an amazing day climbing out in the remote wilderness. While society rippled along undeterred on summer time.  

To be continued on April 10th... I just can't wait!  

P.S. Conspiracy theories anyone?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Geiske

Actief sinds 29 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 402
Totaal aantal bezoekers 116008

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2014 - 16 Augustus 2014

European Escapades

11 Januari 2014 - 02 Februari 2014

A Spanish intermezzo

05 November 2012 - 08 April 2013

World Trip - Part 2

05 Februari 2012 - 30 Augustus 2012

World Trip - Part One

04 Juli 2010 - 28 September 2010

China

Landen bezocht: