Starbucks - Reisverslag uit Santiago de Chile, Chili van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu Starbucks - Reisverslag uit Santiago de Chile, Chili van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu

Starbucks

Door: Geiske

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Geiske

19 Maart 2013 | Chili, Santiago de Chile

I arrived at a sad point in my life. This morning I unthinkingly grabbed the Nescafe jar and prepared myself my morning coffee. And realized a lifestyle upgrade was called for. Mismatched food, paper dry skin, or bedbugs are all doable. But no longer objecting to instant coffee is off limits.  

Unfortunately, a more decent cuppa in Chile inevitably means Starbucks. It's no Italy here after all. Well, as we say back home: you've got to row with the oars you've got. At least I knew to expect airconditioning, overpricing, and impeccable service. Wrong! The girl responsible for preparing my iced latte must have woken up with a look of unpenetrable contempt. Throwing snearing stares over the rims of her purple glasses, while taking a full five minutes to prepare a single beverage. Taking a deep breath in brought me no calmth however. The smell of aftershaves and perfumes brought back long lost memories of commuting and deadlines. And oddly also feelings of nostalgia bubbled up. Quickly I returned my attention to Ms. PMS. Where my fears of her work speed and ethics turned out to be without ground. The girl at the cash register was so friendly and talkative, she fully absorbed all production bottlenecks. And the latte perfectly conformed to international Starbucks standards. So I took overpricing for granted, and exited with a smile to the sunny streets of Santiago.  

P.S. And rest assured that I'm counting the days until I can lay my hands on some freshly roasted coffee beans and an Italian coffee maker!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Geiske

Actief sinds 29 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 593
Totaal aantal bezoekers 115846

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2014 - 16 Augustus 2014

European Escapades

11 Januari 2014 - 02 Februari 2014

A Spanish intermezzo

05 November 2012 - 08 April 2013

World Trip - Part 2

05 Februari 2012 - 30 Augustus 2012

World Trip - Part One

04 Juli 2010 - 28 September 2010

China

Landen bezocht: