Hospital floors and the mother of all waterfalls - Reisverslag uit Parati, Brazilië van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu Hospital floors and the mother of all waterfalls - Reisverslag uit Parati, Brazilië van Geiske Groot - WaarBenJij.nu

Hospital floors and the mother of all waterfalls

Door: Geiske

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Geiske

13 Februari 2013 | Brazilië, Parati

An amazing dream of beaches and rocks and sun and happiness unfolded itself inside my closed eyelids. Until a voice came from far away, and I became vaguely aware of lying on the white tiled hospital floor. And about five people bending over me. It all started with that busride from hell I told you about last time. And me writing this story obviously means I recovered by now. So here is the last Brazilian story.  

This episode's key figures:
* Hanneke, polishing her final tweaks of Brazilianism
* Ever indecisive Jonah: "Oh no, brilliant music career, or my own hostel in Brazil, or stay in Paraty and have a good time with my friend"
* Our stand-in mom Luzia with the golden heart, who makes stronger coffee than Hanneke can drink
* Alan the BFG - for those of you who dont get it: really, there is no excuse for not having read Roald Dahl!
* The Ogres a.k.a. Priscila and Caro, two Brazilian hotties on the hunt, who got blessed with a very Dutch sense of humor and a few words of English  

Brazilianification
After sleeping off our bus ride, the traveling vibe was quick to state this week's terms. We kick started our stay in Paraty with an evening hunt for cachaça with hostel owner Alan and Jonah the musician slash future bar tender slash future whatever. Which of course had to be consumed as well, while philosophizing on life and whacking mosquitos. The next morning, our roommates Priscila an Caro obducted us innocent Dutchies to a nearby beach. Trunk filled with cold beer, windows rolled down, Funky at full volume on the car stereo. And I couldn't even muster a feeling of inappropriateness. Brazilian naturalization has been completed! Of course things didn't end here. Our funny Ogres decided we needed a quick knowledge upgrade on Brazilian men - only to try, never to marry - and man hunting slang. The week further involved some music and dancing at Paraty's main square. It was pre-carnaval warn-up time here, and apparently Dutch carnaval music is quite similar to the Brazilian one. But lo and behold, they don't do polonaise! Even after our clear instructions plus demonstration we only had a few followers. What barbarians!  

And the last Dutchness
Maybe Brazil got to us, but there still was a little Dutch blood pulsing in our veins. Because the minute Hanneke and I were medium rested, we tried to venture out and do stuff. Like going in a boat tour around some fit-for-paradise islands and beaches, where we alternated our splashing about with eating fresh pineapple on deck. Or how about a horseback riding trip that didn't really involve any horseback riding? Or bird watching without birds? Fair enough: we did get to meditate and chant in the jungle. And Tarot promised me the world was at my feet. But the biggest mid-jungle surprise definitely was a three course, five star bio-organic meal, served on a wooden porch, thundering rain pouring down only centimeters away. But everything has to come to an end. First were tearful goodbyes to our Ogres. So much fun we had and so many crude jokes we exchanged, language barrier or no language barrier. Next up it was time for Hanneke to go back to Holland. After a month of practise, she gloriously braved Rio all by herself. I'm so proud of her! But as for me... by now a lingering tiredness and throat ache had developed into something flu-ish, so I stayed behind in Paraty. Hiding in my thermal gear and goose down sleeping bag in the middle of Brazilian summer. No fun at all.  

How I ended up on that floor
Unfortunately things deteriorated and the fever evolved into a proper throat infection. Leaving me with no choice but to explore the local health care system. Boy, an experience it was. For those of you not acquainted with us Dutchies: we don't like medication too much. No such thing can be said about the Brazilians. The doctor resolutely upgraded my paracetamol self-medication with antibiotics and pretnison. Plus an injection of cortico-steroids. Don't even ask me why, but this being the only hospital around I had no choice but to go along. The shot was administered in a dirty, little room - your average fast food kitchen would be more clean. Luckily the needles were clean, I did feel a need to check. My poor body certainly didn't agree to all these chemicals. And with sound and vision fading, I entertained the doctors a little further by collapsing on the hospital floor. Solution: more treatment! A drip was instantly jammed into my arm and I was nowhere to go for the next half an hour. Thank god Alan had come along to interpret and hold my hand, so I was not alone.  

Decision time
All in all, it took me a full week to regain a little strength again. It really sucks to be sick on a trip. On the other hand, how lucky I was to still be in Paraty, where Alan got me the required medication. And Jonah, Luzia made sure I ate every now and then. Thanks so much guys. As I was regaining my strength also restlessness returned, and it was decision time. Stay around Rio and São Paulo for another week for carnaval? Or get moving again? After all I had only two months left and plans for at least six. Solution: let's explore the nearby climbing. Well, think again. The weather forecast showed nothing but perpetual rain. Grrrr... Restlessness on the winning hand I ended up booking a bus ticket to Foz do Iguaçu. Bye bye Paraty. I wish I had the inner peace to stay longer.  

The mother of all waterfalls
To shorten the story: Foz do Iguaçu is nothing but a tourist town. But it holds a treasure: the immense Iguazu waterfalls. Once more I was forfeiting my off-the-beaten track philosophy. And deservedly so. No words can adequately describe the immense masses of water thundering down hundereds of waterfalls. Everywhere I turned, water came crashing down. My brain just couldn't process all the visual input, transforming what was in front of me into an odd stop-motion video. And the sound really works on your flight reflexes. Amazing. Just amazing...  

Well guys, this is it. The last of my Brazilian adventures. Next up: the Paraguayan smuggler's route. Sweet hug to you all.

  • 14 Februari 2013 - 09:25

    Esther:

    Gelukkig ben je weer up and running ;-)
    Geniet en relax de laatste twee maanden. We dutchies don't like medication, but we try to twice as much activities in our time and it can never be fast enough!
    X Guusje

  • 14 Februari 2013 - 12:11

    Margriet:

    Wat een akelige ervaring in het ziekenhuis, Geiske, dat is schrikken! Goed om te horen dat je inmiddels weer volop aan het genieten bent van watervallen en smokkelroutes. Veel plezier en zorg goed voor jezelf! Liefs

  • 14 Februari 2013 - 15:21

    Mark:

    Poeh ee!!

    Boeiend verhaal weer Geis!! Super leuk om (af en toe) je reisverhalen te lezen.
    Veel plezier nog en hopelijk zonder dokteren!!

    X Mark

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Geiske

Actief sinds 29 Juni 2010
Verslag gelezen: 526
Totaal aantal bezoekers 115831

Voorgaande reizen:

16 Augustus 2014 - 16 Augustus 2014

European Escapades

11 Januari 2014 - 02 Februari 2014

A Spanish intermezzo

05 November 2012 - 08 April 2013

World Trip - Part 2

05 Februari 2012 - 30 Augustus 2012

World Trip - Part One

04 Juli 2010 - 28 September 2010

China

Landen bezocht: